Gilmer County

Board of Commissioners

Commissioners Office
1 Broad Street, Suite 106
Ellijay, GA 30540
Telephone: 706-635-4361

The Gilmer County Board of Commissioners consists of a three person government body that is made up of two Post Commissioners and a Chairman. All three seats are elected county-at-large (not by district or zone). The Commissioner positions are essentially the local legislative branch, Post Commissioners work as part-time officials whose voting powers include county policy, spending and taxation rates. The Chairman position is a full-time official who serves as the county manager or county administrator. The Chairman presides over the Board of Commissioners meetings and has full voting rights and obligations. As the Chief Executive of the county govemment, the Chairman is responsible for the day to day operations of various county departments and employment decisions that are not otherwise reserved for the Board as a whole or otherwise the responsibility of other elected officials, such as; Sheriff, Tax Commissioner, Clerk of Court or Judicial offices.

The Board of Commissioners meet on the 2nd Thursday of each month. Each meeting is duly posted in the legal organ and at the Courthouse prior to the meeting. Rules of Decorum are observed at each meeting and comments from the public are invited prior to a vote on each agenda action item. Citizens wishing to speak are asked to state their name and exhibit good behavior when addressing the board. The Board of Commissioners is responsible for the management of the following departments; Gilmer County Road Department, Fire/Rescue, Parks & Recreation, Solid Waste, Planning & Zoning and the Animal Shelter. The Board also serves as oversight to county owned facilities such as the Whitepath Golf Course and the Gilmer County Airport.

Charlie Paris, Chairman

Charlie Paris was elected to the Chairman position for the term beginning January 1, 2015 and ending December 31, 2018.

Dallas H. Miller, Post 1 Commissioner
Dallas H. Miller began serving a partial term as Post 1 Commissioner on December 12, 2013. Relected in 2016, his term ends on December 31, 2020.

Travis Crouch, Post 2 Commissioner
Travis Crouch was elected to the Post 2 Commissioner position for the term beginning January 1, 2015 and ending December 31, 2018.