Gilmer County Government
Ellijay, Georgia

WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TODAY?
Click here Gilmer County Government Phone Directory

PHONE
DIRECTORY

Click here for Gilmer County Government Open Bids & Contract Opportunities

OPEN
BIDS

Click here for Gilmer County Government Budgets & Financial Statements

BUDGETS
FINANCIALS

Click here to contact Gilmer County Government Commissioners

COUNTY
COMMISSIONERS

JOB
OPPORTUNITIES

HOLIDAYS

2023

Monday, January 2 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, April 7 State Holiday
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Monday June 19 Juneteenth
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Monday, October 9 Columbus Day
Friday, November 10 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 23 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 4 State Holiday
Monday, December 25 Christmas Holiday
Tuesday, December 26 State Holiday

CALENDAR

Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023
5:00 PM
Special Called Meeting: Planning Commission / Board of Land Use Appeals
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Click for February 7, 2023 Agenda

Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Click for February 8, 2023 Agenda

Thursday, Feb 9, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Click for February 9, 2023 Agenda

Thursday, Feb 16, 2023
5:00 PM
Public Hearing: Planning Commission / Board of Land Use Appeals
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Click for February 16, 2023 Agenda

Wednesday, Mar 8, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Thursday, Mar 9, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Wednesday, Apr 12, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Thursday, Apr 13, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Wednesday, May 10, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Thursday, May 11, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Wednesday, Jun 7, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Thursday, Jun 8, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Thursday, Jul 13, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540
Wednesday, Aug 9, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

NEWS & NOTICES

New State-of-the-Art Emergency Alert System

Gilmer County has chosen Hyper-Reach, as our new state-of-the-art emergency alert system. Hyper-Reach will provide rapid notification of hazardous and urgent situations using a mix of telephone calls, text and email messages, smart speaker alerts and other advanced alerting methods. The system sends thousands of these messages to geographically targeted households in seconds, as well as sending broadcast messages to most current mobile telephones in an affected area using FEMA’s Wireless Emergency Alert (WEA) system.

“Our job is to protect the citizens of Gilmer County as effectively and cost-effectively
as possible.” said Keith Kucera, Public Safety Director for Gilmer County. “We reviewed all the major vendors for emergency notification service, and Hyper-Reach gave us everything we needed, as well as features only they had, at an unbelievable price. We’re really excited about this new capability.”

Citizens also can get emergency alerts via their Alexa-enabled smart speakers just by saying “Alexa, enable Hyper-Reach” and following the Alexa-provided instructions. With more than 50 million US households using Alexa devices, there are obviously thousands of County residents with Alexa units.

Citizens can also download the Hyper-Reach Anywhere app on their smartphone. Hyper-Reach Anywhere is a free smartphone app that allows individual citizens to manage and monitor the alerts they receive, both for their home and office addresses and for other addresses they care about such as those of elderly relatives or friends.
“We’re honored to have been selected by Gilmer County, GA to provide its emergency alerts,” said Sam Asher, President of Hyper-Reach. “It’s gratifying to be part of an effort to save lives and protect property and we take that responsibility very seriously.”

Residents and people who work in Gilmer County are encouraged to enroll now either by calling or texting “Alert” to (706)525-5733 or by going to the website http://hyper- reach.com/gagilmersignup.html.

COVID-19 GUIDELINES & UPDATES

For questions of the Governor’s Order regarding a business please call the Georgia Department of Economic Development at 404-962-4000 or visit  https://www.georgia.org/covid19

Current Employment Opportunities