Gilmer County Government
Ellijay, Georgia

COVID-19 GUIDELINES & UPDATES
Faith Based
Food Service
Hotels and Cabins
Large Business
Public Safety
Small Business
Transportation
Vineyards and Orchards

For questions of the Governor’s Order regarding a business please call the Georgia Department of Economic Development at 404-962-4000 or visit  https://www.georgia.org/covid19

Executive Orders issued by the State of Georgia
WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TODAY?
GILMER COUNTY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART

CALENDAR

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Aug 11, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Sep 7, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Sep 8, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Oct 13, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Nov 9, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Nov 10, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Dec 7, 2022
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Dec 8, 2022
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Thursday, Jan 12, 2023
6:00 PM
Regular Meeting: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

Wednesday, Feb 8, 2023
9:00 AM
Work Session: Board of Commissioners
at Gilmer County Jury Assembly Room
1 Broad Street
Ellijay, GA 30540

More Meetings

HOLIDAYS

2022

Monday, January 3 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, April 15 State Holiday
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day
Monday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 5 Labor Day
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day
Friday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 25 State Holiday
Friday, December 23 State Holiday
Monday, December 26 Christmas Holiday

NEWS & NOTICES

New State-of-the-Art Emergency Alert System

Gilmer County has chosen Hyper-Reach, as our new state-of-the-art emergency alert system. Hyper-Reach will provide rapid notification of hazardous and urgent situations using a mix of telephone calls, text and email messages, smart speaker alerts and other advanced alerting methods. The system sends thousands of these messages to geographically targeted households in seconds, as well as sending broadcast messages to most current mobile telephones in an affected area using FEMA’s Wireless Emergency Alert (WEA) system.

“Our job is to protect the citizens of Gilmer County as effectively and cost-effectively
as possible.” said Keith Kucera, Public Safety Director for Gilmer County. “We reviewed all the major vendors for emergency notification service, and Hyper-Reach gave us everything we needed, as well as features only they had, at an unbelievable price. We’re really excited about this new capability.”

Citizens also can get emergency alerts via their Alexa-enabled smart speakers just by saying “Alexa, enable Hyper-Reach” and following the Alexa-provided instructions. With more than 50 million US households using Alexa devices, there are obviously thousands of County residents with Alexa units.

Citizens can also download the Hyper-Reach Anywhere app on their smartphone. Hyper-Reach Anywhere is a free smartphone app that allows individual citizens to manage and monitor the alerts they receive, both for their home and office addresses and for other addresses they care about such as those of elderly relatives or friends.
“We’re honored to have been selected by Gilmer County, GA to provide its emergency alerts,” said Sam Asher, President of Hyper-Reach. “It’s gratifying to be part of an effort to save lives and protect property and we take that responsibility very seriously.”

Residents and people who work in Gilmer County are encouraged to enroll now either by calling or texting “Alert” to (706)525-5733 or by going to the website http://hyper- reach.com/gagilmersignup.html.

Current Employment Opportunities

Download Application for Employment (pdf)
Download Voluntary Self Identification Forms (pdf)